New Years Resolution: Not As Scary As It Seems!

January January January. Hi. As you, January, welcome us into this year of 2015 we would like to welcome our resolutions for that in which we believe will mend our ways. Hash-Tag, not.

Is it just me or is the phrase “New Years Resolution” so grotesque. I mean that we find this very common phrase to be absurdly incongruous with our actual intentions and generally we feel so overwhelmed, that we don’t even resolute at all; it’s sad, but true. This year, break down your resolutions on a micro-scale and make them more
realistic, practical determinations.

a-new-years-resolution-is-supposed-to-be-nothing-short-of-a-peaceful-or-satisfactory-intention-1ffae

People are so turned off by this new years resolution phrase that they think it has to be something BIG or life-changing. It has become this ever so scary, I’m not going to do it, thing. Instead, it should be viewed for what it really seeks to do: resolute. By definition, a resolution is merely a formal expression of an action, it is a firm decision to do or not to do something. Simply put, a resolution is an intention. And that my friends, is all it is. To make it even simpler and more relative, a “new year’s resolution” is supposed to be nothing short of a peaceful or satisfactory intention.

So, take out the pressure of this common misconception and put your attention on every area of your life. Make it something small, make it something as simple as trying to get more ski days in this year, visit that local flea market you’ve had your eye on or try to go to see your parents one time more than you did the year before. The point is, put these things in your calendar now, so you actually do them!

goal-board-is-a-calendar-for-your-ambition

When I start thinking about my new year’s resolutions it helps me to break it down by month. I will schedule it in my calendar or put it in my notes in my I-phone, so I remember not just my priorities, but my desires too. It’s all about doing whatever will work for you so you make your intentions concrete. If you focus on filling your life with the details it will help you achieve your short and long term goals and essentially, improve your overall happiness.

Here’s a little example of a simple resolution of mine. You know how some girls do the “No Poo” thing, well, I’ve been doing the “No Lour” thing. I like to call it “going green” with my hair. When I say that, I plainly mean, I am reducing, revitalizing and rejuvenating my hair. If you are unfamiliar with my made-up word, “Lour” and have no idea what I am referring to when I say “No Lour” or “No Poo”, let me fill you in, No Poo = No Shampoo and No Lour = No Colour. In this particular setting, I thought the addition of the “u” in color made it extra fancy and now necessary, so I went with it, but to be completely blatant with you, all this means is I am not putting any color in my hair for a couple months,
about 6 to be exact!

My hair is taking the simple dignity of unadorned truth. For any blondes out there, you understand the terror. I am doing it in hopes of saving my hair!

no-poo-no-shampoo-no-lour-no-colour-no-color-not-as-hot-as-you-used-to-be--d2dc1

During this time of withholding color, ideally my hair will restore itself and grow to be long and strong. This naturalistic vow to my hair is going to be (and has been) hard, as I have had white-blonde hair since I or anyone else can remember. I understand that ombres have become the popular and appealing thing to do, but honestly, ROOTS have never been the cool thing to do and I am full flesh doing it. Ahh! A very definitive line of roots exploiting the contrast of light blonde and dark blonde or in my opinion absolutely brown, is not sexy nor can you make it sexy.
It is what it is and that’s just that.

However, I have found myself to be quite the creative stylist when styling my own public appearances, such as; wearing beautiful delicate headbands, adorable slouchy beanies and the floppy hat, of course. It’s been a fun challenge and definitely a challenge of self-confidence, but it’s been good and I think it’s necessary for my hair to get the healthy attention it deserves! It’s certainly been different to not have perfect blonde hair, but being perfect isn’t everything and for me, it’s more valuable to have bad roots for a short period of time in hopes of a successful regeneration for proper hair growth! Wow, could I sound any more girly or what?

To make this short story longer, ever since I have started coloring my hair (age 16) I haven’t stopped. It’s basically an addiction, a blonde-addiction and it’s a very real thing. So real, that since this life-changing experience was introduced to me, I have been known to feed my habit every 6-8 weeks solidly, for almost 10 years now. Having said that, this is what brings me to “my firm decision to not put any color in my hair until my birthday” = my resolution.

blonde hair collage

It’s as simple as that guys. A resolution doesn’t have to be something scary or direful at all, as that is not the purpose of a new years resolution. A new years resolution should solely be a reminder in time to do a simple life audit or make an exciting commitment to something. It doesn’t have to be all that it has become hyped up to be or this thing so unattainable that you don’t even seek to do it.

In all reality you probably are doing some sort of resolution already, only you called it a goal. Which is great and you should keep making mini goals for yourself throughout this year and the rest of your life, but for the sake of this conversation, you should try to make some new years resolutions for yourself that are comparable to your goals or at least just write out some simple things you would like to see yourself do this year.

You don’t have to quit smoking cigarettes or immediately dread the gym because you think you have to lose 15 pounds in 3 months or something crazy and far-fetched like that.

Again, don’t feed into this common misconception. Be the change you wish to see. Do something to
better yourself.

Allow this time to focus your energy on your desires and let your resolution be something as simple as
a happiness intention towards fulfilling your beatitude pursuits.

Leave a comment